CPU Special Registers

Instruction Register (IR): The instruction register holds the instruction currently being executed.

Memory Data Register (MDR): The memory data register (also known as the memory buffer register or data buffer) holds the piece of data that has been fetched from memory.

Memory Address Register (MAR): The memory address register holds the address of the next piece of memory to be fetched.

Program Counter (PC): The program counter holds the location of the next instruction to be fetched from memory. It is automatically incremented between supplying the address of the next instruction and the instruction being executed.

Accumulator: The accumulator is an internal CPU register used as the default location to store any calculations performed by the arithmetic and logic unit.

current instruction register (CIR)

control unit (CN)

central processing unit (CPU)



Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s